Services for Pregnant & New Mothers
Newborn Home Nurse Visit for all new Richland County Moms
Richland Public Health provides a registered public health nurse to visit your home to do an assessment of your newborn (up to eight weeks old) and answer any questions you may have. To find out more about this free service, click on the headline above.
Women, Infants and Children (WIC)
WIC is a nutrition education program. WIC provides coupons for highly nutritious supplemental foods which promote good health for pregnant and postpartum women, breastfeeding mothers, infants and children.
Birth and Death Certificates
The Health Department can provide birth certificates for anyone born in Ohio and death certificates for any death in Richland County, excluding the City of Shelby.
The Vital Statistics division at Richland Public Health maintains records of all births and deaths in Richland County since 1908 (excluding Shelby). Certificates for births and deaths occurring in the city of Shelby after 1968 are kept at the City Building in Shelby.
If a birth or death was in Shelby, but prior to 1968, these certificates are on file at Richland Public Health. Richland County births and deaths occurring before 1908 in are kept at the Probate Courthouse.
Car Seat Education
- Children who are less than 4 years old and/or less than 40 pounds, MUST be in an approved, properly installed child safety seat (infant seat, convertible seat) while being transported in vehicles registered in Ohio.
- Children who are less than 8 years old or under 4' 9" tall MUST be in a properly used booster seat while being transported in vehicles registered in Ohio.
This applies to all drivers including relatives, friends, neighbors and drivers of vehicles that are owned or otherwise under the control of day care and kindergarten agencies.
Richland Public Health offers a free Car Seat Education Class. The class is available to anyone who is interested in child passenger safety. The class covers Ohio's Child Passenger Safety laws, types of child restraints for children of all ages, and common mistakes. This hands-on class is approximately one hour long and provides participants with the knowledge they need to protect infants, toddlers and children in motor vehicles. For more information please call 419-774-4500.